Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

New Era: A Work In Progress

Ok, so this is a big move. However, there were various reasons for it. Primarily, I’ve been uncomfortable with the closeness that my Google accounts were having. I’m a big fan of Google and their products, but synergy is one thing that I don’t want crossing over to this side of things for me.

I’ve worked hard to keep things separate, but at the end of the day it is probably very easy for someone to quickly connect the dots between my blogger blog and the other gmail functions that I use for general life pruposes.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not trying to hide anything… far from it. I’ve always maintained that while I am not looking to advertise my situation I’m also not hiding it. I think in this day and age a little bit of anonymity goes a long way. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve interviewed people in a professional setting and found their facebook page with drunken pictures. It’s not that I’m a prude, but there is a time and a place for everything. I think it also shows your maturity and ability to realize that people will find ways to judge you positively and negatively.

Though probably more importantly, the reason I choose to remain mostly anonymous is that I’m not the only one involved here. Sure if I was single I might not be so discreet, but this is not just me we’re talking about here. I would hate for a friend or work colleague of SR’s to come across my blog some how and connect it to me. It’s not just me that I’m potentially outing. SR agrees with me on the being open, but not advertising it thing. She’s not the one blogging though.

Give all of that I decided to move off of blogger and to severe the connections. It’s going to be hard because I’ve gained a good following across the last four years, but I figure that I’ll make the transition slowly. But the sooner I do this the better. Ultimately I’ll kill the blogger account.

So excuse me while I make the move and get used to using a new blog system. I’m sure it will be fine, but don’t be surprised by some wacky looking things from time to time.

August 11, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for the comment over on my blog!

    I know exactly what you are saying about a little bit of anonymity and professionalism. I hope you enjoy your new location!

    Comment by Willy | August 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

