Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

Too Much?

I found a new blog that I’m really enjoying. It’s a married guy. There is sex and flirtations with others involved. Honestly I have not had a chance to dive far enough into the archives to get the full story, but from what I’ve read so far I really like it. I think I really like the guy. He has a voice that just reminds me of myself. It’s called Wanton Maleness. Check it out.

I particularly liked this recent post. I’m copying it here (hope that’s cool WM, if you’re reading):

So yesterday the wife and I were lounging upon our bed, she watching TV and, honestly, I don’t remember what I was doing. Old age sets in already apparently. She read me this pop up quote that was on, that said 54% of men think about sex at least once a day.

My immediate response was…pfffft…fucking amateurs.

Of course this made me think. Now I know I think about sex more than once a day. I don’t know that I could count how many times I do, because it is rather frequent, and it is second nature, I’d might not even notice I had the thought.

I am by nature, a highly sexed person. I have been for as long as I can remember. I peaked at 18 and never came back down as far as I can tell. Now while I am not thinking about it 24/7 it is frequent. I’m thinking about the sex I want to have, the sex I have had, checking out people and wondering about them.

Of course I am a member of the online sex community (do we get membership cards or anything?). I have the blog here, and read many others, so because of that, I am thinking about sex often. Now does my libido feed my online activities, or do the blogs and what not feed my libido? My inclination is that all my various online play fuels my desires, but there was a sizable flame to begin with already.

So my question I guess, is thusly. Do you think about sex often and does being online have any influence? I guess another question would be, short of obsessing, is there such a thing as thinking of sex too much?

This is what I had to say on his comments page:

YES! I am in the same boat with you. I am a highly sexual person and so I find myself thinking about it more often that I should. However, I find having a sex blog and reading others on a daily basis does enhance this even more. Even when I try to not think about it and focus on work or life in general when I want to take a break and relax I find myself drifting to things sexual. Whether it be reading a blog or checking up on online profiles or chatting with people I’ve met online. I find it can border on obsessive.

Can it be too much? I do find that one busy work days not having that outlet to let the sexual side of my brain explore only means that when I do have the time to go there I tend to get lost in it much more intensely. So yeah I have found that sometimes, it is too much.

I guess though I’ve found ways to balance it so that it doesn’t get in the way of important things like wife, work, friends.

Check him out. He’s a great read.

April 17, 2007 - Posted by | Link to read

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, thanks for the kind words, and I don’t mind at all the reposting.

    I thought your answer was awesome, and articulate. Your repsonse in turn made me think, especially your point of balance and overcompensating.

    Thanks again!

    Comment by WM | April 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

