Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

30

I suck. Truly I do. And I don’t mean “in that way” (which I do do, quite well honestly). But I suck because I haven’t blogged in forever! Well not forever, but about a month. And in reading my last substantial post I kinda left y’all hanging. Not that anyone really seemed to notice or care.

So I am working on a long and extended update post that I hope to get up later today. But first I wanted to say thanks to some of you who emailed me yesterday to wish me a Happy Birthday. Yesterday I did officially enter my 30s.

I had a lot of people over the last week or so ask me how I felt about turning 30. Honestly I’ve truly been looking forward to it. As with most people my 20s were a tumultuous time of growth, learning, and figuring life out. I certainly had my fair share of bug ups and downs. Now I truly feel like I’m in a strong and solid place. It’s kinda nice to have that milestone maker of being 30 to close that chapter of 10 years of learning about myself.

So what’s to come? Well, isn’t that always the million dollar question. I don’t know, but what I do know is that I’m in as good of a place as I’ve ever been in my life and I feel very good about it.

This was my horoscope for my birthday. You have no idea how spot on it is:

Make it a point of principle that every time you gain in some way – in wealth, in love, in understanding – other people gain too. Life is not a zero-sum game – someone does not have to lose every time you win. On the contrary, when you gain they gain, and when they gain you gain even more.

And again, I promise more later today. Someone please hold me to that!

April 10, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Oh, I noticed AND cared. I just didn’t gripe about your posting delays. We all have ’em.

    Happy birthday. My 30th was my first midlife crisis

    Comment by Evan | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  2. Well happy late birthday man. And from somebody with just 7 mths left of his 30’s, ENJOY THEM! They’ll go fast!

    HUGS….

    Comment by Polt | April 10, 2007 | Reply

  3. From some one who is way past 30 I also wish you a Happy Birthday. I would check back every so often and I did miss your posts.

    Comment by binstatenisland | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. happy b-day, m. and i always care ’bout ya. no matter how long it takes for you to post – i’ll always come back.

    you’ll enjoy the 30s – don’t sweat it. i hit it last year – and while i initially freaked out and thought i suddenly had to be “super adult” – i quickly realized that’s just a manufactured fear. you can still be “you” no matter what age span.

    being in your 30s is all about knowing how to avoid the bullshit one underwent in the 20s in order to have some peace and calm. at least, that’s what i’ve heard. mind you, this is all alleged info. i’m only (almost) 31 – so i could be talking out of my ass. 😉

    but i have no doubt you (in particular) will handle things just fine.

    Comment by libertine di homo | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  5. OMG my thirties were the best. Truly THE BEST years so far. As you know, my sweet, I just hit 40, and it wasn’t as terrible as I thought it would be. But I DO miss my thirties terribly.
    Enjoy.
    And I will SO hold you to posting soon again.
    Man, its been frickin’ dry around here.
    😉

    Comment by e.e. | April 12, 2007 | Reply

  6. I managed to utilise turning 30 into having a 1/3 life crisis! Hope you manage to avoid this phase and have a happy birthday.

    Comment by My-Slant | April 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

