Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

Are You KIDDING Me With This???

I know I have promised to bring you all up to date on what’s going on, but I have to admit that I’m just not in the mood. August has not been the most enjoyable month at all. I’m sure I could take up a couple hundred lines pontificating on what’s been happening, but here’s the bulleted list for brevity’s sake:

  • I’m currently looking for a new job. This process wasn’t wholely initiated on my part, but in the aftermath of the second half of July I should have seen it coming. After the initial shock of it all I realize that this really is a case of “it’s not me; it’s them.” I’ve enjoyed the place I work and the people I work with that I turned a blind on to the dysfunctions and the set-up for failure of the position I’m in. There are pros and cons to it not entirely being self-initiated (pros: sending out resumes in the middle of the day doesn’t matter; no making excuses to go for interviews; there’s no guilt in using the sick days you have stored up since you are going to lose them. cons: there could be a point where I don’t have a job; you start to resent your boss severely trying to suck every last piece of knowledge out of you thus proving your value in your job and negating the issues that led to this point)
  • I’m on grand jury duty service, which means I’m not in the office from 1:15-5:30 nearly every day. Given the above, this has turned out to be a welcome situation. Plus it is entertaining in some regards since I’m hearing primarily drug cases (you can buy anything on craigslist, but watch out cops are shopping too)
  • It’s end of summer fatigue. Come June SR and I welcome the ability to escape the city every weekend to the delightful summer locations of our respective parents. However, 20-some weekends later and more obligatory weekends away than we would like It’s getting old. We’ll have the last hurrah for Labor Day and gladly take our weekends back for ourselves.

Wrap this all up and it’s been a crap-errific August. Hell, I’m even ignorning emails and ims from very interesting prospects that could lead to some enjoyable times. When I do talk with people I feel like a broken record putting them off — it’s not a good time. And I know this could easily be construed as we’re not into it. But really — it’s not a good time right now. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Now, let’s really make things exciting. Wednesday is the two year of the “bad day.” The day I told SR I was bi and that I had cheated on her fairly extensively. Of course, whenever that day is looming I get on edge and start acting weird. I don’t know why it just happens. I mean I know why (it makes sense), but still. And of course SR’s body decides this is the good time to close up shop for that time of the month. Just when I want to be close to her it’s “closed for cleaning.” And well let’s throw on the fact that it’s been a while since I’ve been able to explore the bi side of me so I’m feeling pulled in that direction. Double GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Maybe it’s just the month. Another good friend also got fired from his job this month; actually the same day my boss decided to tell me “it’s not working out” and then my girlfriend is in uterian limbo. Or maybe Pluto not being a planet anymore is mucking up the cosmic energy.

Now I don’t want to give you the impression that I’m a mess and things are terrible. Actually, I’m surprisingly upbeat about the whole job thing. I guess when you getting hits on 75% of the resumes you send out and you’re having able 2 interviews a week it’s good. I just wish it wasn’t so much in limbo right now. And the whole anniversary thing will be fine. We’ll acknowledge the day (it’s hard not too because it’s one of our best friend’s birthday too so it’s easy for us to remember) and then enjoy the weekend and feel like we are starting things over fresh and new with summer behind us.

SO! The long and short of it. August sucked. Life is a roller coaster right now. And September is only a Friday away. Bring it on!!!

p.s. note to girlfriend: hope you didn’t mind the plagiarizing of the title. I used the exact phrasing and all and am giving credit here.

; ; ; ;

August 28, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. but… but… you met ME!!!!
    That HAD to have been the best part of the WHOLE month!

    (***winking, grinning***)

    Comment by e.e. | August 28, 2006 | Reply

  2. I was getting there!! jeez!

    Comment by Raven in NYC (aka Mark) | August 28, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

