Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

I Made You a Mix Tape

A mix tape. He made a mix tape.
He was thinking of me, which shows he cares.
Sometimes when someone has a crush on you
They’ll make you a mix tape to give you a clue.
– from Avenue Q

I am proud to say that I grew up knowing all the various forms of media for listening to music. My first album was an actual album. I know what a 45 is. I have listened to 8-tracks and my dad was a big fan of the reel-to-reel. Of cours, my formative years came with the cassette, and of course the mix tape. I can say I’ve only made two mix tapes in my whole life.

SR was working late tonight and so I decided to bring the mixt tape into 2006 and make her a playlist for her iPod. I’m hoping to be able to sneak it on her iPod without her knowing. Thought I’d share it with you all:

1. “The Way You Look Tonight” – Tony Bennet from My Best Friend’s Wedding Soundtrack
It was our wedding song. It’s the song I would have written for her if I ever wrote her a song.

2. “Better Together” – Jack Johnson from In Between Dreams
If we got married today this would probably be our wedding song. The lyrics and melody are so simple and pure.

3. “Yellow” – Coldplay from Parachutes
If I was a famous rocker I’d be Chris Martin, but I’m cuter. This song is so haunting and the lyrics are errily beautiful.

4. “Why Don’t We Get Drunk and Screw” – Jimmy Buffet from Songs You Know by Heart
He is her musical obsession, not mine; but I can appreciate the sentiments of the song.

5. “This I Swear” – Nick Lachey from Soulo
Because the song is so freaking cheesy how could it not be included.

6. “You Were Meant to Me” – Jewel from Pieces of You
‘Put on my PJs and hope into bed’ will always put a goofy grin on SR’s face.

7. “Head Over Feet” – Alanis Morrisette from Jagged Little Pill
The ‘best friends with benefits’ line was always our inside joke though we had no idea how much, but that is truly what our relationship is.

8. “Deep Inside” – Eden White from This is the Way
Eden White is a singer/songwriter from nyc who never made it big, but should have. She was like a female Billy Joel. A crime that she didn’t make it big. This song is beautiful and amazing. I’ll have to find a way to upload it all for you.

9. “It’s All Coming Back to Me Now” – Celine Dion from Falling Into You
Ok, don’t ask me why, but for almost a year this was the first song on an album that we would listen to in bed at night and eventually would be our making love album. Creepy and scary I know.

10. “By My Side” – Stephen Schwartz from Godspell
We met doing theatre in college and co-stage managed a production of this show. The time we spent together is what got us to where we are. Without sharing that experience I don’t think we’d be married.

March 30, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Raven –
    In the past I have commented on how much we seem to have in common, but let me state for the record that when it comes to music we share nothing. Seriously awful, awful songs and artists, each and every one.

    Comment by sal_c | March 30, 2006 | Reply

  2. Wow, ouch! Well, see what you are missing is not that these are my favorite songs, but rather songs that have meaning for me and my wife. I’m willing to allow for Nick Lachey (um I kinda sorta said it sucks, but defines a funny moment in our history), Jimmy Buffet (I don’t get the appeal at all unless it’s a means to getting drunk or high which seems to be the case with most of his music, but she is a Parrot Head what am I to do), Jewel (she’s fine but I do feel the urge to slight my wrists), and Celine Dion (this is an infection of my mother-in-law, and I think I explained this one. I admitted teh embarassment of it, but when a song gets associated with fabulous sex it just sticks).

    I will take exception on you hating Tony Bennet… I mean dude, c’mon it’s freaking Tony Bennet. And I learned to love Tony from my grandfather before MTV made him cool.

    Jack Johnson – he’s my James Taylor.
    Coldplay – Yeah, it’s kinda cool to hate them now isn’t it.
    Eden White – If you know her I’d love to hear you try to rip into her.

    Now I’m sorry if I’m getting a little defensive, but dude, you just threw some hate onto a sweet thing I did for my wife. I guess I shouldn’t care because she appreciated the hell out of it.

    Now if you want to know my true music favorites go ahead and ask.

    Comment by Raven in NYC (aka Mark) | March 30, 2006 | Reply

  3. I have yet to find a way to convey playful sarcasm on the page. I guess emoticons are good for something 😉 And you’re right, Tony Bennett doesn’t suck. I guess I’ve just heard that particular song one too many times. No offense was intended.

    Comment by sal_c | March 30, 2006 | Reply

  4. Yeah, I should learn my own lesson with my sarcastic wit never being fully appreciated over written communication. No offense taken. No worries. Just got me when the caffine from the coffee was kicking into high gear. And at the end of the day, don’t care if anyone hates the list, the wife got all mushy about it so that’s all that matters to me.

    Comment by Raven in NYC (aka Mark) | March 30, 2006 | Reply

  5. My wife and I met also in the theatre. We were part of a big show together. I had auditioned actually to pick up another girl but she eventually stood me up at the audition. We were to audition together. Anyhow, I made the cut, became a performer for a year, then met my wife a bit later when she also auditioned for the show. The rest is history.

    Erodoux
    lifeajar.wordpress.com

    Comment by Anonymous | March 30, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

