Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

‘Brokeback’ Marriages …. ugh

I suppose it was inevitable, but New York Times has an article about mixed orientations marriages today. Despite the ‘Brokeback’ reference a very interesting article.

Most interesting line.

“The survival of even a small minority of these marriages calls into question the conceptual shoe boxes into which human partnerships, affection, attraction, commitment and sexuality are often jammed. Describing their permutations and combinations turns out to be much more complicated than checking a box on a form labeled “gay,” “bisexual” or “straight.””

I debated sending it to SR, but I figured why not share it. Her initial response was that it was difficult to read because it fed right into her fears. Her fears about me and my ultimate motivations and feelitns. But she also made the point that “I am glad I am reading it. Yeah, but there is a VERY fine line between gay and bisexual when it comes to marriage… I mean, bottom line, I think many of the men who get married but also like men are bisexual. I mean, it is all fluid. It isn’t like they lived in sexless marriage AND MANY would initiate the sex. “





March 7, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Reading the Times online, they show the most e-mailed articles of the day. This was very respectably in third place. Clearly you and I were not the only ones sending it to our wives or friends.

    Comment by Bibydays | March 8, 2006 | Reply

  2. Up to number 2 today (not sure if with a “bullet”) on the most e-mailed list. It has clearly struck a chord.

    Comment by Bibydays | March 8, 2006 | Reply

  3. I am wife of bi guy and found the article by accident. It was very interesting. My take on my husband is that he is more gay than bi. I think that each couple that finds themselves in this situation should evaluate their own personal situation and seek counsel from someone who is a professional. Email groups do not always give the best advice. But I see now that there are a lot of us out there in this situation and I would guess that there are many many more.

    Comment by Anonymous | March 15, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

