Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

Blogger Block

I’m not sure if it’s the LONG weekend I had or the fact that I have a thousand things in my head, but for the life of me I can’t think of anything to write about. The whole weekend was all about family, and while that was great and fine, I do wish SR and I had had a day alone in New York together. Though we did get to catch up on some movies.

On Thursday night we saw Harry Potter 4. Really enjoyed it. They did a pretty good job of condensing a long story. Plus I was glad to see the movie took a more grown-up shift in the characters just like the original book did. Then again I think the Harry Potter movies are pretty full proof in being good. It’d take a real idiot to mess one of them up.

Then we saw Rent on Saturday night. Let me preface this by saying that Rent played a pretty defining role in my college experience. Doing theatre, it kind of became the soundtrack of college for me. I also slept outside of the theatre to get $25 front row tickets. Mind you this is still when areas around Times Square were still sketchy. Not like 1980’s sketchy, but the Rent theatre is a little south and west of the heart of Time Square so it wasn’t on the best block. There are many flaws in the show itself, but seeing it live and the vibe of the show makes you overlook them all. Plus the overriding message is pretty great for a college student. I was very excited going into seeing it. I was apprehensive, but there was such good buzz from fans who had seen it. About 10 minutes into it I’m horrofied because I’m sitting there having a conversation in my head that is pretty much “Oh my God, I can’t believe I’m hating this movie. How can I be hating this movie.” By the end I didn’t hate it, but I certainly did not like it. I can’t quite describe why, but the only thing I can say is that it lost it’s soul. Whatever vibe the stage show gave off was completely absent on screen. I didn’t mind any of the choices they made to fix the flaws in plot and such. And some of the things that annoyed me are pretty minor (although the Rent number at the beginnign — someone needs to explain to me how that turned into the whole neighborhood burning the block down!). I’ll probably go see it again because SR loved it and in talking about it with her I’m willing to see it again to see if I missed something. But I’m really of the opinion that if you don’t like it on the first showing, you might appreciate it more, but you’re not gonna like it.

So if you didn’t already know I am a HUGE movie buff and don’t get to go as much as I used to because SR really has to be in the mood to go to the movies. Plus I tend to be more adventurous in my choices.

Talkign about movies gives me a good idea. Since I don’t really have anything exciting to talk about I’ll let you all rip into my list of favorite movies. Enjoy!

1. Amadeus
1. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy
3. Schindler’s List
4. Citizen Kane
5. Six Degrees of Separation
6. Casablanca
7. The Lion King
8. Gone With The Wind
9. The Color Purple
10. Pulp Fiction
11. The Joy Luck Club
12. Almost Famous
13. Saving Private Ryan
14. Moulin Rogue
15. Singin’ in the Rain
16. Goodfellas
17. All That Jazz
18. The Shining
19. Chicago
20. Shakespeare in Love

November 29, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. nice list. there are definitely some things on there that would make it on to mine, if i had the attention span to actually sit down and attempt such a thing. 🙂

    Comment by P/O | November 30, 2005 | Reply

  2. Thanks P/O you sound like my wife. Exactly the type of thing she’d say, but she’d be rolling my eyes for even putting the list together.

    Comment by Raven in NYC (aka Mark) | November 30, 2005 | Reply

  3. Ah, I have this problem constantly, which is probably the reason I rarely up date. Ah well, what’re you gonna do?

    Comment by SD | November 30, 2005 | Reply

  4. See SD… the problem is that once you post something that’s steamy and exciting, just posting about everyday life is boring. But since that’s what we normally like I plow through anyway.

    Comment by Raven in NYC (aka Mark) | November 30, 2005 | Reply

  5. Reading about someones everyday life isn’t boring, per se, it’s different. Hell, my personal blog is as boring as they come but it’s me, you know?

    And personally, I like different just about as much as steamy so it’s all good to me.

    Comment by SD | November 30, 2005 | Reply

  6. This is a great post. You’re not all sex and steam…this is part of who you are. I know it doesn’t bring in the readers, but it does let the regular get to know the real you a little better. Don’t worry about writer’s block…keep these posts coming.

    Comment by Perfekt Dad | December 4, 2005 | Reply


Leave a Reply

