Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

Girl Crushes are In, but what about Guy Crushes?

My wife and I are ahead of the times… again. There was a news story making the rounds last week. It started with a NY Times article. The story was about girl crushes. Basically “It refers to that fervent infatuation that one heterosexual woman develops for another woman who may seem impossibly sophisticated, gifted, beautiful or accomplished. And while a girl crush is, by its informal definition, not sexual in nature, the feelings that it triggers – excitement, nervousness, a sense of novelty – are very much like those that accompany a new romance.”

My wife and I find this whole thing funny because my wife and I have joked about her girl crush without knowing what the name of it was. My wife’s girl crush is Reese Witherspoon. My wife is, in small ways, obsessed with Reese. She has gotten her hair cut quite similarly to Reese (a la Sweet Home Alabama – see photo). She always loves seeing what Reese is wearing in gossip magazines. But I think my wife also likes Reese because she’s not the typical movie star. She has a marriage and kids that she keeps out of the spotlight. She goes to work and does her job — shows up at premieres and does publicity stuff, but then she goes back to her life at home. In many ways it’s how my wife would treat things if she was in the spotlight. She’d do what she needed to do to continue doing what she dreamed of, but wouldn’t get all caught up in the celebrity of it.

My wife also has a girl crush on Jennifer Garner (God, I love my wife’s taste in women!), but Reese is definitely #1. Also, the whole tabloid relationships have tainted Jen Garner for my wife. And really, I think that my wife would probably not call it a girl crush because she’d probably want to bed Jen Garner quicker then Reese.

So girl crushes are trendy. But are there guy crushes? Well, if there are I’ve got one.

So who is my guy crush?

Without question Tom Brady. I mean c’mon. He’s a star quarterback who’s team has won 3 out of the last 4 Super Bowls. He can look sexy with shaggy hair and a scraggly beard. He’s dating a beautiful actress. I mean c’mon the guy’s the freaking model of the all-american guy.

And that is the primary reason I’d say Tom Brady is my guy crush — because he is the all-american guy. He is the kind of guy I do secretly wish I was. The guy’s guy who is good at sports, has a killer body, was probably in a frat in college, and is the envy of women and men. I mean what guy doesn’t think that would be cool?

And ok, I’ll admit it… I wouldn’t mind finding him alone in a lockerroom one day. I mean look at him he’s fucking hot. And, hell, I didn’t even put up a picture of him in uniform. But see that’s the thing while I could be a guy and take it to the sexual I still think Tom Brady is a pretty fucking cool guy. I wouldn’t mind being friends with him and just being able to hang out with him.

Oh and by the way. Tom Brady is on the cover of this month’s GQ. You can read the article here, but I would highly suggest getting a copy on newsstands because there is an awesome spread of pictures of him.

August 31, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Me and my wife are pretty up front about when one of us finds a person of the same sex sexy. I’m gonna post a link to yours on this subject.

    Comment by Mister Freeky | September 1, 2005 | Reply


Leave a Reply

