Defending the Raven

Bisexual. Married. Man. Open. Read On.

Defending the Title

So I’m sure the first question everyone will ask is what the f*ck (oh sorry, for those of you who don’t know me I should mention that I have 1. a warped sense of humor 2. a dirty mind and 3. a potty mouth — I will try to self-edit as best I can) is the title all about.

I grew up Catholic and went to Catholic schools K-college. Well, in all my time learning bible stories and such I always was intrigued by the raven in the story of Noah. Noah sent out a raven to find if the waters form the flood had receeded, but the raven never came back. Then he sent out a dove and it came back with an olive branch. Now the dove is always the hero of that part of the story and everyone looks down on the raven. Well, I always thought “hey, that’s so wrong! the raven probably died because the waters hadn’t receeded! He flew around looking for a tree or mountain or something… why are ravens bad??!!” So I always thought that Defending the Raven would be a great title for a book or something. However, over time I’ve realized why I’ve identified with the raven even as a kid. Guess we’ll see how much the analogy sticks over time.

June 14, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. […] In the last week my blog has risen to the surface again not because I had any new desire to write, but because it overlapped with my real persona for the first time. I know that I go by Raven sometimes on here, but if you look at my history you can see I quickly dropped the Raven name and went with a more normal name. Having mixed with the Buring Man crowd I know there are a lot of people who use alter ego names. It’s just not something that fits me. However, the fastest way to identify myself in the blog world is by Raven so it remains. Plus I do still love the title and meaning of my blog’s name. […]

    Pingback by Worlds Colliding « Defending the Raven | February 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi there, I discovered your blog by way of Google at the same time as looking
    for a similar topic, your website got here up, it appears
    great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    I am no longer sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic. I must spend a while studying more or working out more. Thank you for magnificent information I was searching for this info for my mission.

    Comment by Website hits | June 20, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I
    came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking
    and will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful
    blog and terrific style and design.

    Comment by oakley prescription glasses | January 18, 2013 | Reply

  4. It’s remarkable to pay a visit this web site and reading the views of all colleagues concerning this article, while I am also zealous of getting know-how.

    Comment by oakley prescription glasses | January 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

